Retro Chic

{Courtesy of Instyle}


For me, sometimes the best part of the movie is the costumes.  Even though I’m a little freaked out by the love interest being Reese Witherspoon and Robert Pattinson (cue the next Demi and Ashton), the minute I saw the costumes instantly new I was going to love this movie. Costume designer Jacqueline West (known for her work with Benjamin Button) did a fantastic job of creating authentic-looking retro pieces.  I love the glamorous retro chic look West created. I’ve always loved the glamorous feel from the fashion of the 20’s and 30’s. I wish I lived in a period of elegance and glamour. I’d love to be able to go out in any of West’s dresses (without getting weird looks as I walk down the street.) I love what Reese Witherspoon said in an interview with Collider.com:

“It was inspiring to have Jacqueline West design them [the costumes]. They’re beautiful. It was a different time, when women loved their curves and enjoyed being voluptuous, and all that sort of thing. All of the costumes in the film are very flattering for women.”

{Courtesy of Vogue}

The costumes in Water for Elephants are extremely body-conscious, which was the style during the time period. But in my opinion Reese looked amazing in them.  She pulled off the retro vibe flawlessly and she proved it in her Vogue spread. So channel your inner Water for Elephants and embrace the retro chic.

{Pleat Bow Belted Play Suit, Coral Lace Pleat Dress, Tuck Shift Dress, ¾ Bell Sleeve Dress, Retro River Hat, Menbur Browna Clutch}

2 responses to “Retro Chic

  1. I actually really want to see this movie. I’m a big Reese Witherspoon fan, and the trailers look really good. The clothes are gorgeous!

    http://live-life-in-style.blogspot.com

  2. WO,lovely editorial, thanks for sharing!!!
    http://chiccastyle.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

