Skin Doesn’t Always Mean Sexy

To say my life has been a whirlwind lately is an understatement. I went from finals to coming home to Georgia to Thanksgiving and from there my time was stretched between spending time with my long-distance boyfriend, catching up with my friends, finding a holiday job, and of course working on my blog. With my time stretched thinly this left little to no time for my magazines, putting me way behind. But lately I made time and sat down with my large stack of magazine to catch up. Amidst the pile of magazines was the December issue of Marie Claire magazine with Emma Watson beautifully posed on the cover. To say I love Emma Watson would be a great understatement. Not only is she a talented actress but also she is also a bold fashionista, an intelligent women and one of the few celebrities who wear fame elegantly. You won’t find her on the cover of any tabloids but you will find her brilliant style choices applauded throughout many fashion magazines (including her recent pixie cut which I absolutely adore).  And just when I thought I couldn’t love her anymore I read her Marie Claire article. She was quoted as saying:

“ I don’t get my flash out. I mean, I wear minidresses, but I try to do it tastefully. You don’t want to see too much… I think it’s so much sexier to be understated. It’s more intriguing to be sexy in a less obvious way”

Today I feel like more women are starting to show more skin and starting at such a young age. We all know what I’m talking about- preteens in booty shorts (we can thank Miley Cyrus for that). But Miss Watson’s quote truly inspired me. You don’t need a cleavage-baring butt grazing dress to be sexy. Confidence is sexy, being yourself is sexy. Sometimes it’s being in just jeans and white tee that make you feel sexy. You don’t have to wear outrageous outfits to be sexy. So taking her words to heart here are a few must-haves to help all you fashionistas be “sexy in a less obvious way”. Skin doesn’t always mean sexy!

Dorothy Perkins Nude Dress, AE Plaid Shirt, Forever21 Cocktail Dress, 7 for All Mankind Skinny Jeans, Metro Park Shirt Dress

Leave a Reply

